Our Three Children Part Five: Our Early Marriage

*This is the last installment from this find*

February 6, 1929 was a cloudy day with the promise of snow in the air, but to me it was the happiest day of my life-“My Wedding Day” or rather “Our Wedding Day.”

After bathing and washing my hair, I used the curling iron heated in the kerosene lamp.  We didn’t have an electric one though of course we had a modern home.

I helped with the housework and all the preparations for the big day.  After the noon meal, I donned my white satin and lace wedding dress and veil.

Roy came in his 4-door Model T with Elmer Boell, his “Best Man” to pick up Marie and I.  Marie was to be my “Bridesmaid.”  I truly wanted Dorothy but Dad said Marie could be the one and what Dad decided was respected.

The church was full as the whole congregation as well as relatives were invited.  I’m sure Grandma Dierks didn’t come.  Dad and I were not among her favorite people.

Esther Mueller Jons played the organ and Roy and I walked down the aisle together.  I am sure the church had no flowers.  It was winter and not the time of year for flowers.  Roy had purchased a beautiful wedding bouquet of pink carnations for me.

I was a small person then-110 lbs.  One lady remarked to her friends that I looked like a little girl going to her first communion.

After the ceremony, we went up to the Rohner Studio and had our pictures taken.  We then went back home where a few relatives, including Roy’s parents, his brother’s family, Uncle John and Aunt Mary Haag and son Everett, and, of course, my sisters and Dad had gathered.  Two of Dorothy’s boyfriends showed up.  that caused quite a comic disaster as I recall.

Susie had baked a three tiered cake, decorated with a little porcelain couple on top.  Susie was really artistic.  Dear Susie, I look back now and I can imagine what a hard life she led during and after the illness and death of our mother.  There was so much responsibility with running our home.  Oh, we all had our jobs, but the bulk of work depended on her.

Susie was a wonderful cook and she prepared a great wedding supper.  After the supper, Roy and I left early for Uncle John’s and Aunt Mary’s farm home near Jefferson to spend the night so we could escape chivariers.  There was no money to spare for chivariers.  Chivariering was a great custom at that time.  Groups of friends would gather outside of the place where the newlyweds were and beat on pots and pans until the you came out and paid them 5 to 10 dollars, which they then used for a party.

We took no luggage.  Roy stuffed my skimpy little lacy pink nighty in his coat pocket and away we drove to Uncle John’s and Aunt Mary’s.  We played cards at their home until it was time to retire to a very cold, unheated bedroom.  their farm home had no modern conveniences like indoor plumbing or heating.

The bed was a deep feather bed and we hurriedly undressed.  The bed had a very  high headboard and footboard.  I remember how thankful I was to have the screening.  I sit here now and laugh.  What an innocent, modest bride I was.  I hurriedly hopped into bed and under the covers, me and my lacy pink nightie.  Very shortly, Roy and his winter underwear hopped in.  Actually, I’m not sure but it was the customfor most men those days on cold winter nights.

Ah, but I was glamorous I thought.  I was 21 years old and so was Roy.  We wanted to be married at 19 years but Roy’s father said a person didn’t have much good sense before 21 years and there was no way they would help us get started.

We had breakfast with our hosts and their only son, who was killed by a kicking horse two years later.

We drove back to Carroll and took the train to Sioux City to stay with Aunt Minnie and Uncle Harry Conner, a gift from Roy’s Dad.

And so began our wonderful honeymoon in the city as well as 62 years of much happiness.

Leave a Reply

