Our Three Children Part Three

On February 28, 1936 Carl Ann “Tootie” Heuton was born- 8lbs. 9 oz. of a very pretty, blue-eyed little girl.  I’ll always remember the peace and happiness I felt the minute Dr. Morrison said it was a little girl.  No baby ever had a finer layette.  I sewed and embroidered everything.  I had even made a pink satin little girl’s quilt before she was born.  I wanted a little girl this time.  Oh, the lace and the ribbons.  Tootie was a good baby too, and a healthy, happy child.

Our dog Rover came to stay with us that Spring.  Someone had left the pup off at our lane.  A beautiful German Shepherd.  The little boys found him by the barn and loved him, calling him Rover because Don had read about a Rover in his first grade reader.

As soon as Tootie could talk, she learned Woba almost before she learned Mama and Daddy.  Rover was surely another member of the family.  He took the children safely to school each day and went to get them at 4:00.  I surely would pity anyone who would touch those children.

One time Tootie leaned against him out in the yard and went to sleep.  There was no way he would move and disturb her.  I can still see his pleading big brown eyes trying to tell me to please pick her up so he could move.  She was about 1 1/2 yrs. at the time.  I was trying to finish the dishes from the noon meal before I put her down for her nap.

I loved making cute clothes for Tootie and the boys.  As you can see from pictures, they were always well dressed.  People would often remark about how well our little family was dressed .  Maybe that is why today I love to dress dolls and do crafts.

When Tootie was about 3 years old, we became good friends of the Rev. A. Bleeke family.  Little Joyce Bleeke and Tootie were constant companions.  They sang together at many of our church special occasions and at the Christmas party Roy and I gave at the country home every year for many years.  I have many pictures of the two little girls at our farm.

Tootie attended our rural school with Jack and Donnie.  All three were excellent students and well liked by the teachers.  At country school, Earl’s little Dorothy and Tootie were buddies.  I think Dorothy was slightly younger than Tootie.  The children never lacked friends.  The children from town loved to come to our farm home.

On Saturday evenings, we went to town as did all our friends and local relatives.  One of the street cops always called Tootie “the little girl in blue.”  Her hair was very blonde and was usually in curls.  I would always rinse her hair with some added lemon juice after shampooing.  She attracted much attention with her fussy little appearance and her big blue eyes.

She loved kittens and played down by the barn with them.  I remember how she always had them all named and, of course, Rover was with her constantly.  Her greatest desire was for a little sister.  When Erma’s Connie was born, Tootie sort of had a good substitute for a little sister.  She loved it when Connie could stay with us.  Connie was ten years younger than Tootie, but stayed with us when her parents went places, such as hardware conventions.

Through her high school days, she had a special friend named Yvonne Manning who eventually became Tootie’s Matron of Honor.  She had many friends.  Oh the bunk parties at our home.  I remember one night especially.  They baked a cake at 3:00 in the morning and then woke me up and asked if I would take it out of the oven.  They were tired and wanted to go to bed.  Guess what I said!?!

Those were happy days but like all children they finally left the nest and flew away.  Then you know what you miss so much.

Farm life became very boring, so I took a job in Carroll, taught some and opened a ceramic shop in our basement until we retired in 1970.  We built a lovely home in Carroll.  Roy and I had many happy retired years there.  We visited the kids often and had wonderful family gatherings at our home.  How we loved having them come for visits, especially at Christmas and Thanksgiving.  Your children are your life.  Roy and I loved them very much and we had each other.  Life was good those days.  Our church life was always very special and important to us and our family.  We owe everything to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

