Where Have I Been? Losing 12 Whole Pounds Over the Holidays and Vacation That’s Where

I have neglected you.  It’s been damn busy around here.  I am loving every minute of it.  I also started Couch to 5k after spending two weeks figuratively cowering in fear of running.  My first day I swear my ass was hitting me in the back of the neck.  I am not even kidding.  Today was Week Two Day One and my ass doesn’t move quite as much.

Gross blister

My starting weight was 221 pounds which is 12 pounds less than I was the last time I went to the doctor.  I lost weight over the holidays and vacation; how is that even possible.  I recall the food we ate on vacation (none of us could crap for a week), and I distinctly remember not working out after we got back because I was lazy and uninterested.  I think it was dumb luck.  I am not really following along with the Successful Weight Loss book any longer but I am still using the tools I learned in the parts I did read.  I did buy a new book on a recommendation of my Biopsychology teacher; Eat, Drink, and Be Healthy.  It’s a guide that pretty much blows the USDA Food Pyramid out of the water and exposes it for what it is; propaganda that benefits the agricultural industry in America without taking into account the health benefits or losses of what they recommend.  I am not too far into it yet but so far I am enjoying it.  I’ll share what I learn as I learn it; promise.

I was accepted into the Bachelor Degree program at school, and I start in early July 2013.  My class load is full of psychology classes and besides the frustration of having to work in groups with people who will surely make me want to throat punch kittens I am stoked to be moving on in my education.  I have 16 weeks left in my Associates Degree program; I will be ending that experience with a fabulous GPA, and that makes me so proud of myself.  We just finished the section on eating and eating disorders and the information I learned was enlightening for me during this weight loss/health road I am meandering down.

I eat chocolate at night.  It’s my reward, and it works.

I mentioned something about a vacation; we went to California and on a whim decided to drive 15 hours up the coast to Portland and surprise my best friend Kirsten.  It was fucking awesome and she had no idea!

IMG_3087 edit

It was by far the best birthday I have ever had.  Allison made my birthday breakfast; I have never had a birthday breakfast before so it was extra special to me.

Birthday breakfast

Birthday Juice

Driving to Portland with some of my favorite people was so fantastic.  We went to San Francisco and ate at Tartine Bakery and I was able to meet Trav’s cousin who lives there.

san fran 1

san fran 2

san fran

We stopped in Weed California for the night.

IMG_2951 edit

IMG_2945 edit

IMG_2949 edit

IMG_2954 edit

Our first night in Portland was complete with best friends, a fire, refreshments, and back rubs.  YES!

IMG_3008 edit

I got to meet up with another friend from Facebook, Michelle!

IMG_3088 edit

The we went to the grocery store and everyone loved us; especially the little fucker that was  being a bully to a girl.  Fuck him.

IMG_3094 edit

Then it was time to leave and we were all sad.

IMG_3106 edit

I can’t put anymore pictures in this post because I need to go to bed and purchase more space.  We’ll have to catch up on the ocean pictures another time.

Now let’s get back to motivation for working out and tips for jumping back into the healthy game.  How many of you made a resolution to get healthier and go to the gym more often?  All of you?  Now that we are coming up on the end of January how many of you are still working on it?  If you are anything like me in past years, not too many.  No shame bitches, this kind of change is hard, especially when you have been trained to yo-yo the shit out of your health your entire life.  We all fall down; just get up again.  We all need motivation; seek it out because usually it won’t come looking for you.

How about this excuse:  “I never see results when I work out.”  Is it that you never see results or you don’t consistently see the results you think you should be seeing?  You can consistently work out and eat healthy and not see consistent results.  Sometimes we hit a plateau and seriously, there is nothing more frustrating than that.  There are a few different things you can do to combat those plateaus; change up your work out; doing the same thing over and over again is a sure way to make your body tell you to fuck off.  Increase your intensity; if your workout is getting easier that is a sure sign it isn’t going to be as effective anymore.  Visualizing your goal is also a good way to keep yourself motivated; imagine the finish line; sign up for a 5k before you even start Couch to 5k (I did, it’s in May), pretend your breaking colorful banners as you finish your spin class.  You are visualizing it in your head so it doesn’t matter how off the wall it is because it’s totally private.  Sign up for something that is completely out of your comfort zone and then own that bitch.

Are you trying really hard to lose weight?  Or do you just really want to lose weight but haven’t put much thought into it and keep allowing other stuff to derail you?  Yeah, me too.  You can’t expect an easy fix.  It takes a lot of hard work and the first step is understanding commitment versus interest.  Linda Spangle, the author of the book I am not following anymore, gave me this little summary of interested as opposed to committed and if you read through it you may find a bit of motivation to spur you on to start trying really hard to lose weight and get healthier.

People who are interested in losing weight

  • Stick with it until something better comes along
  • Take action only if they “feel like” doing it
  • Need to see results in order to stay motivated
  • Blame people or circumstances for their struggles
  • Easily give up when they face challenges

People who are committed to losing weight

  • Stick with their plans no matter what
  • Take action whether they feel like doing it or not
  • Assume that if they stay motivated, results will follow
  • Take responsibility for their own actions
  • Keep going in spite of challenges and setbacks

Being committed isn’t easy.  It can be painful when you are just starting a road to better health.  But until you are committed to getting healthier through a conscientious diet and regular exercise you won’t see much lasting change, but you will likely see a lot of frustration and self-hate, and dude, that just isn’t something you want in your life, and it isn’t something I want for your life either.

Start small; commit to walking around the block ONCE every other day.  Just do it.  No matter what.  Commit to walking around the block every other day for a week.  Call me (if you have my number and know me well enough to call me) and we can chat while you walk around that damn block.

Believe in yourself, commit to yourself, use the tools at your disposal, seek out new ones, don’t hate yourself.  Love yourself as much as I love you.

Leave a Reply

