Cake Batter Fudge

IMG_9899

This is Eli’s cake batter fudge for his class celebration tomorrow afternoon.  I am going to make a strong case to bring the book The Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig, but it’s going to be a hard sell.

I have eaten too much of this stuff today, but I decided that I wanted to try a different kind.  So I bought devils food cake mix and andes mints baking pieces.  It’s in the fridge setting.  Yikes, they smell really good.

I got the recipe here, and I followed it step by step.

IMG_9888

I mixed 2 cups of Betty Crocker devil’s food cake mix and 2 cups of powdered sugar.

IMG_9890

I poured in a quarter cup of milk (don’t mix it), and one stick of butter.  Microwave it for 2 minutes.

IMG_9896

It comes out looking like this.  Let the butter come to room temperature, or at least let it sit out for 20 minutes before you use it.  If you forget it doesn’t matter, you just have to stir it a little longer to get it to melt completely.

IMG_9894

I poured in an entire bag of andes mints pieces, mixed it up and threw it in a greased round cake pan.

IMG_9897

I put it in the fridge for two hours then slid a knife between the edge and the pan and put it upside down on the counter.  I have to pound on the bottom of it a few times to make it separate.

Then I made playdough!

  • 1 cup of plain flour
  • 1/4 cup of salt
  • 1 tsp of cream of tartar
  • 1/4 cup of oil
  • 1/2 cup of water

Combine the dry ingredients in a pot, over very low heat pour in the water and stir until incorporated.  Keep it over low heat and add the oil.  Stir until the whole thing is warm.

IMG_9876

Dump it out of the pot onto a surface comfortable for kneading.

IMG_9880

Have at it until it looks like this.

IMG_9883

At this point I added root beer flavor oil and red and yellow food coloring.

IMG_9902

Then packaged it up for Eli’s class tomorrow!

Alright, I am going to go cut out the chocolate mint fudge so I can take a picture of it and finish this post so I can do some dinner party planning before we eat!

I am back.  I have finished cut out the fudge.  OMG.  It is as good as it sounds.  Make it with the chocolate, because holy crap!

IMG_9910

Uh…huh…just look at it.

IMG_9911

 

I have to say thank you to Rachel for pinning this on Pinterest.  If I hadn’t seen it on Facebook I never would have realized that cake batter fudge existed, and I never would have had the idea to do it with chocolate and andes mints.  You’re welcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

