Hey Guess What! My Skirt Fits Again!

After being sick for a few weeks and lazy for an extra week I finally jumped back on the wagon and went to the gym.  Last week I successfully went each weekday morning for about an hour and a half.  I found myself falling asleep after my shower each afternoon and in the middle of the week I had a dream that my skirt fit.  I woke up and decided to try it on for real and to my complete surprise, the motherfucker fit!  Pride doesn’t even begin to cover it.  It felt so very good to have reached my first milestone.  I am still not aware of what I weigh because I still don’t have a scale and I have not stopped in at the clinic to get a weight.  Sometime this month I will be going in to beg my doctor for some drugs that will knock me out for the plane ride to Cali next month and I am sure they will weigh me then.  I am apprehensive about it.

Do you want to hear something totally ridiculous?  For about twenty minutes I tried to convince myself that my skirt had actually grown instead of giving myself credit for working my ass off.  Literally.  Three months ago I was unable to pull this skirt up past my hips.

Christmas party outfit

 

I wore this to the company Christmas party where we won a jacket instead of a Wii.  I call bullshit.

Last week was also my last week of my two least favorite classes so far.  Philosophy and Algebra…goodbye.  Today marks the beginning of two new classses; Sociology and Biopsychology.  I am still considering a switch in major when I am done with my Associates.

Really, last week was very uneventful which is nice, because sometimes eventful sucks.

My eating last week was nice and on point; I practiced paying attention to when my body was full and looked for the pause in my eating which was always hand in hand with a big deep breath.  I stopped eating at that pause and big breath each time.  It is becoming a habit now instead of a chore so I think I am ready to move on to Day 36.  Oh but wait, Uncle Teddy gave us Amish candy for Christmas and it was wonderful.  Cashew Brittle and Turtles, the caramel was stupid delicious.  I ate more than I should have, but I also went to the gym every fucking morning, so there!

Day 36 deals with slowing down the act of eating.  Travis will be happy to tell you that I don’t need any work in that area.  I eat slowly, so slowly that it could be described as maddening by my husband.  He doesn’t like to eat out with me because he finishes about a half an hour before me.  This is because he shoves food into his face at an alarming rate.  I think he thinks savoring food is for pussies or something.

If you are like my husband and you find yourself eating very fast then it is probably a good idea to follow the tips Linda Spangle gives for slowing down.  In the beginning she suggests setting a timer on your phone or something as a guideline to eating slowly.  She says 20 minutes is the perfect amount of time and if you pay attention you should strive to take your last bite right about the time your timer is about to beep at you.  Chew slowly, chat between bites, whatever you feel you need to do to make your meal last at least 20 minutes.  Continue watching for the pause in your eating that signifies just right fullness and savor the food you are choosing to eat.

Linda also talks more about your bodies need for fuel.  It is simply not always on a predictable schedule.  You may eat a quarter of your food before the pause happens and you sit back and think, “what the fuck, I cannot be full already, and I want more of that food!”  Stop at the pause, wait twenty minutes, evaluate your need for more fuel and proceed as you see fit.  Sometimes that feeling of being full will only last for a short time, or it may last longer than you thought it would.  If your body begins to tell you you are hungry again sooner than you think it should, then you need to stop thinking your body is going to do what it should.  Listen to what it tells you.  Hungry again?  Eat, but make sure it is quality fuel, not filler, and do not forget to listen for the pause to signify being full.  Don’t question the signals you are getting.  Case in point, I ate lunch at 12, I had some vegetable soup, and a salad of baby greens with tomato and black olives with some Sarah Lee flat buns broken up in it; it’s 2:30 now and I am recognizing signs of being hungry.  Because I am listening to my signals I am going to eat some greek yogurt and have a cup of coffee.  I am listening to you body, keep talking to me.

Now let’s talk about motivation tips again; we’re on tip number 4 which highlights the excuse, “working out is boring.”  Yeah, of course working out can be boring, but the issue here is that you have probably boxed yourself into a routine that sucks.  I have been going to the gym, and the gym can be boring.  Doing the same exercise day in and day out is fucking boring, not to mention totally ineffective.  Last week I concentrated on a different routine then the one I am concentrating on this week.  Last week I spent a lot of time on the bike, this week I am doing intervals on the bike, elliptical, and weight machines.  I have also signed up for a session with the personal trainer to ensure I am using the equipment correctly and effectively.  Change it up, do different things.  Take a class or two.  The bottom line is, if your workout is boring there is only one person to hold accountable for that; yourself.

YouTube is a great place to find ideas for different and more challenging workouts.  The last tip they give is to create a playlist of music that helps you push through the workout.  I need new headphones because the ones I have fall out of my ears and piss me off.  I have not listened to music for the last week at the gym.  I have downloaded a few workout mixes and I miss using them because I found that the higher the tempo the harder I work.

Today’s Takeaway:  Slow down when you eat, listen to the signals, quit boxing yourself in to routines that suck, and quit expecting your body to do what you think it should do.

Leave a Reply

