If You Don’t Like Coconut…

I have had this cookbook, Gale Gand’s Short and Sweet, for at least 4 years and have only made two things out of it, Cherry Clafouti and Fruit Potstickers, both delicious.  Travis was working on fixing his Grandparent’s record player and I caught site of the book because you know, I store my cookbooks in the record player.  I really super love cookbooks, of all kinds, but I usually just look at them and read them, I rarely cook from them.

Changing that!

I made mini macaroon pies with chocolate ganache.

 

They are sticky and chewy.  I can’t eat very many of them, and of course, if you don’t like coconut you will hate these.  It’s like a mini Almond Joy pie.  I have toasted almonds to go on top of them as well but because this was just the test batch I didn’t use them.

This is time consuming I thought, but not terribly.  I spent quite a bit of time molding the coconut cups because I wasn’t sure exactly how much to use for each one.  It turns out I used too much, maybe.  Combine 3/4 cup of white sugar, 3 large egg whites, and 2 1/2 cups of sweetened flaked coconut.  Spoon it into mini muffin pan cups and create a bowl.  Cook in a 350 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes.

 

I am actually not sure I can get them much thinner, and the chocolate ganache is super duper rich and anymore of it than what is possible with the thicker cups might be too much.  Chop 8 ounces of semisweet baking chocolate and bring 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream to just a boil.  Pour the cream over the chopped chocolate and let it sit for a minute before whisking it to melt the chocolate.  I had chunks of chocolate left over so I did a double boiler to melt it all the way.  It got super shiny!

 

I had to chop the chocolate with a bread knife.

 

 

Did you know Baker’s chocolate jumps like jumping beans when you chop it up?  I did not.

 

In the middle of all of this Soda decided to be cute.

 

I had to pry the cups out of the muffin tin with a plastic knife but they came out pretty easily after going around the edges.  I poured in the ganache and let it sit for an hour before I tried one.  Yum!

 

Happy Thanksgiving friends!

Leave a Reply

