13/100

I woke up with a headache today so after the kids were safely on the bus and off to school I climbed back into bed and slept until I started having weird dreams about Kelly and Michael.  I woke up at 9:30 and realized that they were actually on the television and had incorporated themselves into my slumber.  My headache was gone for the most part but it was hanging out on the fringes and threatening me with an encore.  I started making excuses for why I couldn’t workout as I didn’t want the headache to come back, and while it is technically an excuse it was also true.  Instead of walking the trail for an hour I decided to walk uptown and pick up supplies for dinner.  I walked so I fulfilled my commitment to myself today.  I can’t knock it out of the park every day and I can’t feel guilty about choosing to do less every once in a while, especially when monster headaches are at play.

I ate oatmeal for breakfast, it made a difference.  I stayed under my calorie count for the day and ate no fillers.  I ended the evening with an asian pear during Sons of Anarchy.  It was a humdinger of an episode.  I need a titanium snow globe.  That is all.

Today’s chapter talked more about fuel vs. filler and the tendency to forget to eat when busy.  Wait…what?  Ok, I can’t actually feign ignorance at this forgetting to eat phenomenon as I totally forgot to eat once last week because I was so focused on algebra homework.  I can understand forgetting to eat, especially when I am busy.  I don’t work right now, instead focusing on my schooling and being the mom my kids need.  I am lucky to be able to do this and forever grateful for the opportunity.  There is no excuse for me to forget to eat.  Is there ever an excuse to forget to eat?  The author gives an example of a nurse with diabetes who works on a very busy floor.  Where her co-workers often claim they do not have time to eat during their busy schedule, she doesn’t have a choice.  If she forgets to eat she gets sick and then is no use to anyone.  Technically it is the same for me, I don’t have diabetes, but if I forget to eat my energy level decreases and I have less fuel to complete my daily obligations.  Learning takes energy and I need to make sure I am giving my body and my brain the fuel it needs to succeed.  I have to remember to eat, I have no choice.

The chapter also talks about saving up calories.  How many times have you done this?  “Oh, I am going out to eat at my favorite restaurant tonight and I totally want to eat their fabulous cheesecake for dessert so I am going to skimp on breakfast and lunch so I can eat more at dinner!”  This is a great idea right?  Wrong.  It is not a great idea at all.  It might absolutely be the worst idea in the history of ever.  My body is a machine that can work really well when I treat it right.  When I give it few calories by undereating it convinces itself that it is going to be lacking in the energy it needs and begins storing the shit out of what I do decide to give it.  This means when that favorite restaurant looms in the distance and that cheesecake makes its way into my face my body is going to hold onto the calories in preparation for not getting enough the next day.  This makes me gain weight.  Am I trying to gain weight?  Are there stupid questions?  Contrary to popular belief, yes.  There are indeed stupid questions, and that was one of them.  Instead of skimping on calories I need to make better choices about the quality of the calories I am consuming and then recall portion control while I am at that favorite restaurant.

Today’s takeaway:  “I don’t have a choice.”

Leave a Reply

