10/100

Today I woke up at 10 am, read a little, ate the rest of my sub from last night for breakfast, and went back to bed until about 2.  Then I woke up ate half of a chocolate poptart and half of a bagel with cream cheese before heading out the door to visit my mom and dad.  My mom and I promptly got into a fight for no reason at all besides both of us having some stressful issues that have nothing to do with each other.  We figured it out enough to get on with the evening and I enjoyed her DELICIOUS Spaghetti al Limone and orange salad.  I went over on my calories today but not by much.  I didn’t work out.  Maybe working out instead of going back to bed would have been a better choice.  Or maybe I can take a day off and not feel like I shouldn’t have.  Live and learn.

Now I have a headache.  Stress fights have a way of doing that I suppose.

My book tells me today that I have to remember to accept compliments without downplaying them.  Example:

“You look great!”

“Oh, thanks!  I still have a long way to go.”

Don’t do that.  Stick with oh thanks and leave the self deprecating bullshit in my head.  Easier said than done I know, especially after a lifetime of downplaying any compliment I have ever received.  Practice makes perfect?  Practice makes better.  I am not perfect, I never will be, and I have no designs on achieving perfection.

Today’s takeaway:  Don’t fight with my mom anymore because the terrible feelings it produces in both of us are harmful and I think we have spent enough of our lives fighting as it is.  I love her and she loves me, that is ALL that matters.

Leave a Reply

