Day Fifteen: Two Bites Does Not Mean You Cut The Piece of Cake In Half

I would like to call attention to the fact that I have not eaten in the middle of the night since the day 12, and wow, that means my sense of time is totally fucked up. I was sure it had been at least a week.  HA!

Seriously though, 3 whole nights without eating in the wee hours of the morning?  *high fives*

Yesterday was uneventful except for my addition of week three in Tara Stiles Four Week Weight Loss series, which turned out to be ab work.

I did an image search for "ab yoga" and this showed up.

I will not lie and say that I have a love hate relationship with my mid section.  I hate it.  And that my friends, as a mother, is considered pure blasphemy.  As a mother I am supposed to embrace my beautiful belly because it provided safe passage to my children 3 times out of 4.  As a feminist I agree with the sentiment and I applaud the females who choose to RAWR! their way to body acceptance, because let’s be honest, It’s awesome.

But let’s not forget that it has been almost 5 years since the birth of my last child.  That is important information that makes it clear that if I am not intending to embrace my fucking belly for being a baby growing machine, then I need to put in some goddamn effort to get it to a state that I am comfortable with.

It’s Day Fifteen, my belly is already shrinking and I am no longer worried about my ability to achieve the torso I want.  I can also say with utter certainty, it makes me feel good, and even though I am still currently uncomfortable with the state of it, I no longer look at it with hate and loathing.  Well except for that one week before my period.

Today Linda asks me to limit myself to two bites of any dessert I am presented with.  I think she is trying to wean me back in to eating some stuff that I like and that normally trigger me to eat my way through the kitchen.  This is a really important step of course, but to be perfectly honest, I am not ready for it.  I have been chewing chocolate chip mint ice cream gum because it tastes exactly like a bowl of chocolate chip mint ice cream.

Is there anything better? Yes! Chocolate chip Mint Ice Cream gum that is sugar free!

The whole lesson for today highlights that the two first bites of food are the ones that taste the best.  In the case of eating something nutritious, eat the whole fucking thing!  In the case of any kind of dessert or any food that is NOT being consumed to benefit my health and energy stores, take two bites and refuse any offers of more.  Give it away or throw it away, those are my only two options after taking the important first 2 bites.  I just have to make sure I give it to someone who is not following a 2 bite guideline when it comes to cake.  Being supportive is a two way street.

and your friend will hug you for it.

Today’s exercises tell me to pick my favorite dessert and spend time appreciating all the flavors and details of the first two bites.  First of all, if I were to pick my favorite dessert that would mean baking it.  If I were to bake it that means there would be a bunch in the house after I took my experimental 2 bites.  I am NOT ready to have that in the house.  So instead I am going to pick something else.

Imagine sprinkles and you will have a good idea of what I am going to take two bites of this afternoon.

I will be honest and tell you this gives me the sweats.  I am really not sure if I am ready for it.  It will be an awesome test of my commitment and improved sense of willpower.

I will let you know tomorrow how it goes, it may be interesting.  Sit on the edge of your seat.  DO IT!

Linda also asks me to pay attention to the first two bites of every food I eat today, making sense of the idea that the first two bites taste better than all the others.  Can do Linda, can do!

Today’s Commitments

  • Jillian Micheals (with 5 lb weights instead of 3, what what?!?).
  • Eat two bites of a custard filled chocolate and sprinkle covered long john, and then give it to Eli.
  • Finish up my assignments for the week
  • Answer the rest of the weeks discussion questions.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

