Day Twelve: Midnight Snacking In My Sleep

It is totally weird that I eat bread in the middle of the night in my sleep.  I don’t like it one bit.  Impulse control while sleeping is something that I have no idea how to manage.  And that’s weird too.  I like to be in control of my body and my mind, so this is driving me fucking crazy!

I never go to the refrigerator but straight to the bread drawer instead.

Web MD says this:

A closely related disorder, known as night eating syndrome (NES), is diagnosed when a person eats during the night with full awareness and may be unable to fall asleep again unless he/she eats.

Symptoms of NES include the following and often persist for at least two months:

  • Little or no appetite for breakfast.
  • Eating more food after dinner than during the meal.
  • Eating more than half of daily food intake after dinner hour.
  • Recurrent awakenings from sleep requiring eating to fall back asleep.


Hi.  Yeah.  That sounds A LOT like me.  Last night I chose to eat two bowls of Fruit Loops and 2 chocolate covered cherries after dinner, after a day of eating like a fucking nutritionist and being PROUD of myself for it.  Shit, I even did 40 extra minutes of Yoga with Tara Stiles AND 30 Day Shred with Trav.

Fruit Loops are poisonous to my success. I did a search for the healthiest cereals. The results made me cry.

Then I woke up in the middle of the night and ate a 100% whole grain hamburger bun.

It could be worse, but the real issue is that it shouldn't be happening at all.

Yesterday I was to note the times I chose to eat.  I spaced my meals about 3 hours apart, 9:30, 12:30, 3:30, 6:30 (then all help broke loose and I worshiped the fruit loops).  Today Linda wants me to look at the types of food I am putting in my mouth.  She wants me to make the distinction between fuel, which is what makes my body perform, and filler, which bloats me up, slows me down, and wears away my overall health.  So I am erasing the digital sticky note on my phone from yesterday and starting a new one, with whole grain oatmeal!

How do I always forget that I love oatmeal?

The fuel and filler analogy is pretty straight forward.  I look at fuel as the kind of food you buy from roadside produce stands combined with lean protein and a whole lot of whole grain products with MINIMAL processing.

Spring is totally checking us out right now.

Looking at that picture makes my mouth water.  I am lucky in that I LOVE vegetables and fruits.  I know a few people who don’t and to be quite honest, I don’t get it!

My bread problem can be solved by making our own and not buying it from the store any longer.

There are so many recipes to try, I like to experiment. Anyone want to talk about commitment again?

Filler is the stuff I eat because it’s there so “why not?”  It tastes good and I love it so I may as well eat it.  Potato chips, candy bars, FRUIT LOOPS, cookies, cupcakes (healthier cupcakes are still cupcakes).  If I tear open a crinkly bag to reach the contents before putting them in my mouth, I am about to ingest fillers, and probably in shocking amounts.  By the way, you cannot leave milk in the bottom of the bowl, it requires a second helping of Fruit Loops.  This is a rule!

Beloved snack foods, I must say goodbye.

Today’s exercises ask me to record all of the food I choose to consume today.  Linda wants me to label each food as I note it as “fuel” or “filler.”  Tonight I am to take stock of the food I ate and make adjustments as necessary to my diet to remove filler and replace with fuel.  Combined with yesterday’s activities I will have a good idea of what food I need to eat and when in order to keep my body performing optimally.

Today’s Commitments

  • 30 Day Shred
  • When faced with Fruit Loops say, “I can live without fruit loops, maybe I will have some later.”
  • Find a bread recipe
  • Remember to revel in the feel of strong muscles.
2 thoughts on “Day Twelve: Midnight Snacking In My Sleep

  1. One thing that I have learned to help me with this is drinking a full glass of water before going to bed. I try to keep something to drink by the bed for when I wake up in the middle of the night as well.

  2. Thanks SororRavn! I will try that. The only issue I foresee is the glass of water waking me up to go to the bathroom, which is in the kitchen. I have to figure out some way to force myself to not walk to the bread drawer. Grrr…

Leave a Reply

