Day Eight: Please, Sir, Will You Assist Me For A Moment?

Help.  It’s kind of a touchy subject for me.  My level of comfort with help is intrinsically related to the state of my mental health.  There is a loose ruler to follow in regards to help and me; if I am asking for it that means I am on a healthy path, but if I am not asking for it and refusing to accept any it’s a safe bet that I am not taking care of my mind as I should be, and that is an issue of major fucking proportions.

The mere act of asking for help puts up a tangible wall in the sneaky progress of my kind of depression.  It stops it.  It can go no farther.  I suffocate it by admitting I need someone else to help me.  I empower myself and move forward instead of withering in place on a tide of apathy and pessimism.

and part of my inestimable charm.

How does this relate to weight loss though?  Beyond the obvious connections between good mental health and good physical health, asking for help in a weight loss situation is akin to wanting to succeed as opposed to wanting to appear to succeed.  If you aren’t really interested in succeeding but just want to look like you are (*raises hand*, i’ve done this plenty of times) help is not something you are going to look for, because asking for help but never taking the advice is a sure fire way to out yourself as someone who is interested in their health, but certainly is not committed to it.

I have said it over and over again to help me remember it.  I am no longer simply interested in my health, I am committed to it.  So when I need help you can rest assured that I will ask for it as much as I need to from as many people as necessary.

Don't worry, I will tell you exactly how to do it.

I assure you that if I need something specific from you, I will tell you what it is.  Travis, did you read that?  Do it again, I will tell you what I need from you.  Everyone, I will ask you for help and I will tell you how to give it to me.  None of it will be hard for you to do, and seeing as I am intending to give you all the steps necessary to do it, not very time consuming either.  I thank you in advance.  Sometimes I may look you straight in the eye as you offer me dessert and ask you to say something else instead, such as, “you have been doing so well, you’re motivation and willpower astound me.”  Then please, for the love of everything good in the world, walk away with the cake and we can pretend that nothing ever happened.

Cake is an asshole and I am going to stop talking about it now because I have not had my oatmeal yet and cake sounds delicious, even if it would take longer prepare and make me feel like vomiting afterward.

Day Two Exercises tell me to first, write a list of things that people are always welcome to say or do in regards to my efforts to attain health in the form of the number, 195.

  • Your success is awesome!
  • Go you!
  • You look HAWT!
  • Cake is gross! (then *wink)
  • Don’t forget that moderation is the most important aspect of everything you do. Have a bite of cake if you like, then fucking walk away.

Next she asked me to write a list of things I never want to hear out of anyone’s mouth.

  • You look so much better now.
  • Remember not to eat that because it will make you fail today.
  • You don’t want to ruin your diet.
  • It’s a free day.
  • You can cheat for a little bit.
  • Just workout extra hard tomorrow.

The most interesting part of this exercise, was the fact that both lists are guidelines I refer to when I am thinking about self-talk.  When I say I don’t want to hear any of those things out of anyone’s mouth, I am including my mouth too.  If anything I am the one who needs to shut the fuck up more than anyone else.  Not. Even. Kidding.

Today’s Commitments

  • Random Tara Stiles Yoga routine
  • Eat salad instead of french fries with dinner
  • Catch up on non-weightloss related posts
  • Take the big camera along to the Spam Museum and fill the motherfucking card with pictures of Spam related goodness

 

Leave a Reply

