Day Four: A Diet Isn’t Bad, My Definition Of It Is

It’s Day Four, and so far I haven’t set any goals for myself that were unreachable.  Yesterday I committed myself to four things; a short yoga session, discussion question answers, drafting of the tester email, and folding and putting away all the laundry.  I enlisted the help of Travis with yoga and laundry and am happy to say, I met all of the commitments and exceeded one.  I wrote the tester email, developed a preliminary questionnaire (super short) and sent it to all of the testers I received emails from.

About yoga.  Trav and I did this video from Tara Stiles on YouTube, and while I wasn’t able to complete all the poses because they were crazy, I had a lot of fun doing it with Trav.  Instead of sweating and being grumpy about the effort I was putting in again on the same old routine, I was sweaty and laughing and I enjoyed the effort I was putting in on something I wasn’t very good at.

This is Bette Calman. This is where I see Tara Stiles in 70 years.  But without the pink jumpsuit. 

It is sort of a big deal that I allowed myself to do something I wasn’t very good at, in front of other people, and an even bigger deal that instead of making me feel like I was a moron, it made me laugh.

Because I felt good about meeting my commitments I went to bed feeling good, and I also woke up feeling good, which prompted me to make a healthy breakfast choice.

This is my favorite breakfast ever, although I usually have some sort of vinaigrette instead of ranch, this was the only option I had available that was fat free.  If you know me, you know that I loathe fat free ranch dressing.  The texture is wrong and it makes me sad.  Today though I chose consciously, I ruled my choice with logic instead of tastebuds that know what they like but not what they need.  Before I ate this I compared the back of the Fat Free Ranch bottle with the full fat most delicious Ranch bottle.

That is a lot of big differences.

And these are the nutrition facts for a medium avocado.

I ate a whole avocado. So all this info times 5. I know I shouldn't say it, but math hurts.

Instead of a 390 calorie breakfast, I had a 280 calorie breakfast that contained 22.5 grams of fat as opposed to 36.5 grams of fat.  To read more about avocado nutrition go here.   All I really know is that I like avocados and they are good for, so I eat them and I think you should to.

Today Linda Spangle and her book asked me to stop calling what I was attempting to do a diet.  I have to say I disagree with her on this one.  I am changing my diet by choosing a better diet to follow as a normal course of my day.  Donuts for breakfast is not normal, but whole grain oatmeal or fruit and yogurt or avocados and fat free dressing, those are normal breakfast choices.

Back in my free wheeling casual sex days I chose to reclaim the word slut, because fuck I was sick of it being used against me for my choices, so today, I choose to reclaim the word diet.  The word diet does not make me think of deprivation because that is not what the word means.

Trusty Merriam-Webster says that diet means this:

1di·et

noun \ˈdī-ət\

Definition of DIET
1. a : food and drink regularly provided or consumed
     b : habitual nourishment
     c : the kind and amount of food prescribed for a person or animal for a special reason
     d : a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight diet>
2. something provided or experienced repeatedly <a diet of Broadway shows and nightclubs — Frederick Wyatt>

Origin of DIET

Middle English diete, from Anglo-French, from Latin diaeta,from Greek diaita, literally, manner of living, from diaitasthaito lead one’s life

First Known Use: 13th century

See the first two?  That is what diet means to me.  Ten or so years ago Jacelyn and Alice’s Grandma said to me that the trick is seeing food as necessary to staying alive, not necessary to being happy.  I didn’t understand it then, but I think I understand it better now.  Although cherry pies still make me happy, and butter too.

Day Four’s exercises asked me to make a narrow plan for my diet and an alternative plan for when it is difficult because of physical circumstances to follow the narrow one.  What this does is give me a path to follow that meanders but never quite gets off track and therefore gives me the ability to not be fucking perfect without feeling like a failure.  I need this.

Narrow Path

  • No more cream and sugar in my coffee, I like it black, so drink it black
  • Tara Stiles Yoga 3 times a week
  • Jillian Michaels 30 day shred 2 times a week (I can’t take much more of her and Spring is on it’s way)
  • Bike paths and walking trails, find them, use them
  • Drink water
  • Eat whole grains
  • Eat fresh fruits and veggies as the main staple of your diet
  • Lean protein 3 times a week
  • Fat free dairy choices
  • Cook your own meals
  • Refrain from eating after 6:30 pm (this takes planning, but this bitch is worth it)

Meandering Path 

  • Tea with 2 tbls of sugar as opposed to my normal 4
  • On the go Yoga poses
  • Short walk around the block (JUST MOVE)
  • Bike
  • Sobe Lifewater or other flavored waters
  • Always choose the healthiest nutrition choice available (you can find it if you look for it)
  • No food in your mouth after 8 pm

Strawberry and Banana Pudding Pops that turned out less Popsicle like than I intended.

Reward yourself with something lovely to eat for meandering positively along the path you have set for yourself.

Today’s Commitments

  • Jillian Micheals 30 Day Shred
  • Catch up with Envisage and my pictures
  • Finish the rough draft of my first paragraph
  • Drink water as my beverage all day today
One thought on “Day Four: A Diet Isn’t Bad, My Definition Of It Is

Leave a Reply

