Chicken ala King as a way to Avoid Homework

 

I am working on body acceptance issues, so you get a rare photo of me taken by Trav while I was sauteing the carrots, celery, and garlic for dinner.  He reminds me that I am beautiful and he makes me believe it.

I made a variation of Chicken ala King that I adapted from Betty Crocker’s website.

 

 

We did not have access to peppers, and mushrooms are totally gross, so I decided to split the carrots and celery I was sauteing for the chicken broth as the veggie in the white sauce.  Trav decided to eat more than half the carrots and celery so I had to improvise with bagged mixed veggies.  I ordered him to exit the kitchen while brandishing a wooden spoon at him.

 

 

It could double as soup.

 

While we cooked The Boy built a fort with the cushions and his Pillow Pets.

 

 

I also made shamelessly good hot cocoa with Ghirardelli cocoa, milk, and sugar.  I am secretly waiting to put the children to sleep so I can make myself some more.  I am also thinking about looking for a single serving chocolate cake recipe.  I think I deserve it for cooking the amazing meal I did tonight.

 

 

Here are the veggies Trav stuffed into his face.  It was like an episode of The Cosby Show, but Cliff was sneaking vegetables instead of cake.

See how I talked about cake again.  That means I am supposed to have cake.

We are sort of broke at the moment.  I have been paying off some debts and trying to cook cheaply and quickly, which meant for a while that we were eating a lot of Ramen.  I have had a whole chicken sitting in my freezer for a month.  What the hell was I waiting for?  We also had a small bag half full of boiler onions that we bought a few weeks ago.  I made up some veggie broth with bouillon and threw that shit in the crock pot for about 12 hours.

I removed the chicken, that was literally falling off the bone completely and separated the gross skin and fat that was clinging to the onions and convinced Trav to put them (the onions not the fat and skin, sick!) in the food processor and make an onion paste.

 

 

I added it back into the broth with half of the sauteed carrots and celery and heated it to boiling in the crockpot.

 

 

I let the broth simmer for an hour and then smushed up the soft carrots and celery with an old potato masher.  I saved half of the broth for tonight’s dinner.

The girls insisted in having homemade chicken soup for an after school snack.

 

 

She all of a sudden has very long arms.

This block of sweet cream butter is the best shade of yellow ever.

 

I rolled the chicken I reserved from the soup in olive oil, italian breadcrumbs, and parmesan cheese.

 

Then I deep fried them till they looked like this.

 

 

Then I asked Eli to smile at me again before we sat down to eat.

 

 

Crockpot Chicken Broth

1 whole frozen chicken

3 cups of vegetable broth

15 boiling onions

Carrots

Celery

1 head of Garlic

Butter

Salt and pepper

Lawry’s

Throw everything in your crockpot and cook on low to medium overnight.  Separate the chicken from the broth and let it cool.  Strain the onions from the broth and pick out any bones or other icky chicken skin and fat that remains.  Save the onions.

Chop carrots and celery and mince the garlic.  Sauté in the butter then add it to the chicken broth that you have placed back into the crockpot.

Place your onions in the food processor with a little of the broth and blend until smooth.  Add this to the crockpot broth too!

Let it cook on high for a while then turn it down and let it simmer for a bit.

Before you begin to cool it down for storage, take a potato masher and smush up the pieces of celery and carrot.

Follow this link for the Chicken ala King recipe I adapted!

Leave a Reply

