Really Simple Fresh Bing Cherry Sauce

I bought two bags of fresh bing cherries at the grocery store the other day.  I decided that a cherry sauce would be a perfect thing to make with some of them.   It takes a surprisingly long time to cut and pit cherries.  I was sort of sick of it toward the end.   I trudged along anyway.

This is 4 cups of bing cherries, halved and pitted.  I ate more than half of these so I ended up cutting up about 6 cups worth.  Then I mixed in 3/4 of a cup of water and 3/4 of a cup of sugar.  That’s it.  Super easy!  You just cook it down until the cherries start breaking up a bit, I think I went for about 20 minutes, maybe a little less.

Toward the end of your cooking time mix 1 tblsp of water with 1 tblsp of cornstarch, add it to the cherries and stir until the sauce thickens up and becomes clear-ish.  I say ish, because mine never really got clear like my definition of clear is.


At this point you have a few options, you can either leave the sauce as is, with big cherry chunks, because that would really be good, or you can do what I did and and throw the whole works in the food processor and make it smooth-ish.  Yeah, there’s that ish again.  Bear with me.

Mine is not exactly smooth, but I don’t exactly care too much.   I mean seriously.  I don’t care at all.

Once I pour this deep red, sweet bing cherry deliciousness over some vanilla bean ice cream, the chunky texture isn’t going to matter one little bitty bit.  It’s also delicious on pancakes (like fresh whole wheat blueberry ones) , and toast.

Make this and eat it!  Now I give you a picture of sexy Trav.  I swoon every time he sweats.

Leave a Reply

