Rhubarb Syrup with Whole Wheat Carrot Pancakes and Fruit Leather

I spent last week pretty much on my back in bed.  And no it wasn’t for anything even remotely fun or sweat producing.  It’s my back, it’s a total asshole and I think it is plotting revenge.

Should I mention the allergies, and that they are like WAY worse in Iowa then they EVER were in Minnesota?  No, you just want to hear about the Rhubarb and the pancakes?

Fine, I see how it is.

They do look Delicious don’t they?

I love the pink of the syrup, it is so light and wonderfully satisfying on the pancakes.  I used this recipe from Food in Jars.  I have fallen in love with this site.  So excited to use it over and over this summer to make delicious things for our mouths!

Like this Fruit Leather made from the Rhubarb goo.   It looks like baby poo I know.  It does NOT taste like baby poo I assure you.

 


I still have Rhubarb left!  I might make a pie, while pickling my vegetables tomorrow.  Rhubarb Pie would be a lovely thing to eat I think.

Cut up about 2 cups of Rhubarb, you can peel it if you like, I try to leave as much of the peel on as I can.  Then add about 2 cups of Sugar.  Mix this in a pan with a cup of water and let it simmer until the Rhubarb breaks down into a mush.

I let mine simmer for about 20 minutes after it started boiling.  I kept the heat low.  Then I poured it all into a mesh sieve and let the juice run out, I let it sit for about 10 to 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, I peeled and processed about 5 carrots.

Then I made a Peanut Butter and Carrot sandwich, I did not photograph it, but it was yummy and I highly recommend you make one!

I put 3/4 of my minced up Carrots in with 1 and 1/4 cups of Skim milk and put it through the processor for a little bit, then I added the rest of the carrots so they would be a little chunky.

Mix it with 1 and 1/2 cups of Whole Wheat Flour, 2 tsp of Baking Powder, 1/4 tsp of Salt, 2 Eggs and 2 tbsp of Olive Oil.  I put mine in a super old two cup measuring cup with a spout.  It isn’t pretty, I might take a picture of it someday, maybe.  Don’t get your hopes up.

This made about 12 medium sized pancakes, we each had three.  Does it surprise you that Eli chose regular syrup over Rhubarb and Jacelyn tried them but didn’t really eat.  High five for trying though right?

We love pancakes in our house, I have been meaning to do a pumpkin one but haven’t gotten around to it yet.  I should probably get on that huh?


I ended the night with a spoonful of peanut butter dipped into minced carrots.  This really is a great combination.  I love peanut butter.

The pancake recipe I used can be found over here on dkMommy Spot, I kept the recipe almost exactly as is so I give credit where credit is due.  The only changes I made were Olive Oil instead of Vegetable Oil and keeping the carrots kind of chunky in the batter.

Tomorrow I am making Refrigerator Pickles with  Zucchini, Carrots, Garlic and Cucumbers.  We have to leave them in the fridge for THREE WEEKS, without touching them.  Whaaaat?

Good luck to us!

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb Syrup with Whole Wheat Carrot Pancakes and Fruit Leather

  1. Pingback: Kirsten 286/365 « Envisage 365

Leave a Reply

