Caramel Rhubarb Crunch

We did not find any bears yesterday but we did visit Trav at work where Eli smacked him in the face with the edge of a shovel then set his army guys up on the edge of some concrete and pushed them into a dirt pile with Thomas the Train.  I didn’t get pictures, it looked like it was going to rain and I was NOT planning to take my camera out in that.  Instead I give you a picture of Trav and Eli planting a tree together.

I planted Pumpkins and a Rhubarb plant my MIL Penny bought for me, as well as putting my Gerbera Daisies in the ground, and my Atomic Red Carrots, Imperator Carrots and Buttercrunch Lettuce.  My flower from Miss Alice for Mothers Day also went in the ground.  It was a busy day.  Somehow I made time to make Caramel Rhubarb Crunch.

What Do I Need?

4 1/2 cups of Chopped Rhubarb

1 cup of White Sugar (maybe a little more)

4 tblsp of Whole Wheat Flour

1 cup of Brown Sugar (and a little more)

1 cup of Oats

1 1/2 cups of Whole Wheat Flour

1 cup of cold Butter

This is about 4 1/2 cups of chopped Rhubarb (I did not peel it), 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, a sprinkling of Brown Sugar and 4 tblsp of Whole Wheat Flour, I mixed it up and poured it into a 9 x 13 baking pan.

I meant to let the Rhubarb sit in the sugar while Eli and I were visiting Trav, but I forgot, next time I will try and see if it makes any difference in taste.

Exciting huh?

Mix together your 1 cup of Oats, 1 cup of Brown Sugar, 1 1/2 cups of Whole Wheat Flour and 1 cup of Butter.  Cut the Butter in until your mixture is slightly crumbly.

I actually don’t own a Butter Cutter Inner (yeah, that’s what I call it) so this is the collection of tools I used to cut it in, I ended with my fingers.  HA!

The cool part of this is that the two smooshers back there were Grandma Heimers, I like to think she would be happy to see me using them.  I wish I had been able to meet her and Grandpa Heimer, instead we visit every now and then and I hear stories.

My jerry rigged Butter Cutter Inners appear to have worked just fine.

I dumped it on top of the Rhubarb and spread it all around.  the recipe says sprinkle it, I say PAH!  Sprinkling is for sissies.

Put her in the oven for 35 to 40 minutes at 375.  I never knew that Crumble/Crunch/Crisps were so freaking easy to make!

While I waited for it to get done I made Brown Sugar Whipped Cream…yes I did.  There is NO shame.

There are no measurements, I had some Heavy Whipping Cream left and since I used all my White Sugar in the actual Crunch I sprinkled some of my Brown Sugar in and hoped for the best.  I don’t think I will use White Sugar in Whipped Cream any longer.

Caramel Rhubarb Crunch without Whipped Cream, blasphemy!

Caramel Rhubarb Crunch with Whipped Cream and all is right with the world, until I ate it all at least.

What Do I Do?

Combine Rhubarb, White Sugar and a little bit of Brown Sugar, and 4 tbls of Whole Wheat Flour and place in greased 9 x 13 baking dish. Combine Brown Sugar, Oats, and 1 1/2 c. lour, cut in Butter  and dump over rhubarb. Bake at 375 for 35-40 min.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

