Broccoli and Ricotta Lasagne

I started out this cooking adventure with Manicotti in mind, apparently, as evidenced by the title of this post, that did not happen.  When I went to stuff the Manicotti shells, they fell apart!

Bastards!

I adapted my recipe from Kirsten’s blog Feeding the Creeks, she makes fantastic dishes, go check her out!

What Do I Need?

Cottage Cheese

Ricotta Cheese

Frozen Spinach

1 head of fresh Broccoli

2 eggs

Garlic

Onion

Butter

Parmesan Chese

2 Jars of Spaghetti Sauce (or homemade which would be better of course)

Your favorite White Sauce recipe

Spinach, eggs and Cottage Cheese


Ricotta Cheese, not my favorite texture but delicious in this dish.  A question for you.  How do you pronounce this?  I pronounce it phonetically but I have heard others say “Ricoatta.”

Which is it?  Does it matter?  No.

A whole head of Broccoli and a whole bulb of Garlic.

Don’t act surprised.

Chunky Sweet Onions.  A whole one, lots of Onion love.

I sauteed the Broccoli, Onion and Garlic in Butter then added the Cottage Cheese and Ricotta and stirred until everything was heated through.

I added the eggs after the Broccoli and Cheese mixture was cooled off a little bit.

Then I tried to stuff Manicotti Shells.

HA!  I did this instead…

I didn’t have enough shells so I sort of skimped in one corner.

Layer noodles, Red Sauce and Filling until your pan is full, your last step before sliding into the oven, pour your White Sauce over your noodles then pour your remaining Red Sauce over the White Sauce, mix them or don’t, it really doesn’t matter.

I baked this baby for 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Then we ate it…

It was Delicious of course.

What Do I Do?

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add manicotti shells and parboil for half of the time recommended on the package. Drain and cover with cool water to stop the cooking process and prevent the shells from cracking.  This did not work for me.  Good luck to you!

Saute the Broccoli, Onions and Garlic in some Butter, to this add your thawed and squeezed Spinach and Cheeses.  Remove from heat and let cool before adding two beaten Eggs.  Set aside.

Spread Spaghetti Sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish so it just covers the bottom. Use Lasagne Noodles or split your Manicotti down the middle and layer them over the Sauce.  Continue to layer Pasta and Sauce and Filling until your pan is full to bursting.

Prepare your White Sauce, pour it over the top of your pasta, pour the rest of your Red Sauce over the White Sauce.

Bake for 40 minutes. Remove from oven  and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake for 10 minutes more.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

