Turkey and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

I have never used Quinoa before, mayhaps I was afraid of something tasting weird.  Ridiculous!

Kirsten from Feeding the Creeks set me straight on my irrational fear of Quinoa.

What Do I Need?

Quinoa  (1 serving cooked according to package directions)

4 Bell Peppers cut in half with the seeds scooped out

2 Turkey Breasts (optional)

1 large Onion coarsely chopped

3 stalks of Celery chopped

3 Carrots sliced

1 bulb of Garlic

Salt and Pepper and Lawry’s

a handful of fresh chopped Cilantro

2 Tbsp of Bread Crumbs

a small handful of Shredded Cheddar Cheese

2 Tbsp of Butter

I also got to use some super bright and fresh Produce, but really who needs an excuse for that?  Speaking of super bright, I ordered colorful carrot seeds for my garden.  Next year?  Rainbow Chard for sure!

I cut three Peppers in half and scraped out the seeds, hen placed them in a boiling pot of Water for 5 minutes.  I drained the Peppers and set them in a baking dish then lightly salted them.

Onions, Celery, Carrots and Garlic

First I cut Turkey Breast into small pieces and sauteed it in Butter (of course), I added the Carrots, Celery, Onion and Garlic and continued cooking until the veggies were beginning to be tender but are still crisp.

This is Trav’s Vegetarian version.  I just kept some of the veggies out before combining with the Turkey.  Easy peasy.

Then I cooked the Quinoa, I didn’t photograph it.  Urg.

Cook it like the package says, it’s fucking Delicious, really.

I suggest, per Kirsten, cooking it in some kind of Stock.  I used Chicken.

After it’s prepared mix it with your Turkey and Vegetables along with a handful or two of Shredded Cheddar, cook it until your cheese is melted.

We are pretty simple sometimes, Lawry’s is a favorite in our house.  You should use whatever you like.

Bread Crumbs ( I used Italian seasoned), Butter and Cheddar Cheese, for the top of your peppers.

Grab your Vegetable and Quinoa mixture, stuff it into your Peppers.  Cover it, Kirsten says sprinkle it, I tried, I really did, in Bread Crumbs and Cheese.  I kind of used handfuls.

Add just enough water to cover the bottom of your baking pan and slide them into a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  Mostly just until the topping is crusty and amazing looking.

These were devoured by everyone.  Seriously a new fave in our house.  I deviated from Kirstens recipe very slightly.  I have found that everything I make from her site, we love.  Also very economical, which is very important for me.  Win!

What Do I Do?

Remove the stems from your Peppers and scrape the seeds out.  Place them in a pot of boiling Water for 5 minutes, then remove, drain, salt and set aside.

Cook your Turkey chunks in Butter until no longer pink in the middle, add your Vegetables and Garlic, continue cooking until your Veggies are just starting to get tender but are still crisp.

Prepare your Quinoa according to package instructions, use Broth not Water!

Combine Quinoa and Vegetable/Turkey mixture with a couple of handfuls of Shredded Cheddar Cheese.  Cook until the Cheese is melted.  Remove from heat and stir in your Cilantro.

Spoon the mixture into your Peppers and cover with your topping (recipe below).

Cook in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes until the crust is crispy and your filling is heated through.

Topping Recipe

Melt your Butter (2 Tbsp)

Add your Bread Crumbs (2 Tbsp)

Add your Cheese

Mix.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Turkey and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

