Super Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

I only used about half of the Sweet Corn from Mark this weekend so I had another 4 ears of Corn worth of kernels to use up before they went bad.  The solution?  Super Cheesy Vegetable Chowder of course!

This looks Delicious and it tastes even better.  This was my first time making a Roux, and it was both easy and fantastic.  I accidentally doubled the recipe and made WAY more than intended.  Happy accident!  I have Chowder in the freezer!

What Do I Need?

7 cups of water

9 crumbled Bouillon Cubes

6 cubed Potatoes

1 bulb of minced Garlic

1 large Vidalia Onion

1 bunch of Celery

3 cups of Carrots

4 ears of fresh Sweet Corn

1 bag of frozen Peas (or fresh)

1 bag of frozen Green Beans (or fresh)

If I had had some Chicken Stock on hand I totally would have used that, as it was, I did not so I resorted to Bouillon, which I really don’t mind in the least.

Cube your Potatoes.

Mince your Garlic.

Add your Potatoes and Garlic to the Stock or Water and Bouillon, boil it up!

Then add…

Carrots, and…

Celery, and…

Onion!  Look!  It’s an Onion Rainbow!

Turn the heat down a bit and simmer for 15 minutes.

After which you will…

…add your Sweet Corn, Green Beans and Peas.

Keep the heat turned low and make your Roux.

What Do I Need?

1/2 cup of Butter

1/2 cup of Flour

3 cups of Milk

1 lb. of Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Seeing as how a Roux takes pretty much constant attention and being my first time I didn’t really want to mess it up, you only get a picture of the remnants of the Cheesy Roux.

You melt one stick of Butter then add a 1/2 cup of Flour all at once.  Whisk it constantly until it turns into a smooth saucey texture cook for 10 seconds.

Add 3 cups of milk slowly, whisking constantly until it is all incorporated.

Continue whisking your sauce until it is thick and bubbly.

Add your cheese and stir until melted.

I sang along to Britney Spears and Lady Gaga at this point.  Loudly.

Add it to your soup and stir well, heating through.

You have Chowder!

I added some Ham chunks to one pot and kept the other Vegetarian for Travis.  Both tasted amazing.

Some fresh baked Bread would be a PERFECT compliment to this!  I cannot wait to eat it tomorrow after the flavors have a chance to mingle a little more.

What Do I Do?

Pour water into a large Stock Pot, add your Bouillon.  Cube your Potatoes and mince your Garlic, add them to you Stock Pot and bring to a boil.

Add in your Carrots, Onion and Celery, turn heat down and simmer for 15 minutes.

Stir in your Sweet Corn, Green Beans and Peas, continue to cook over low heat.

Make your Roux according to the directions above.

Add the Cheese Sauce to your Soup and heat through.

Serve it hot and…

…Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Super Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

Leave a Reply

