Sweet Corn and Vegetable Pasta Salad with Garlic Vinaigrette

My future Father in Law brought me some first of the season Sweet Corn the other day and in the hustle of rehearsal dinners for Our friends Josh and Nichoel’s wedding and Travis being at the church early for pictures the next day, I just didn’t get around to using it right away.  So while Trav was gone and I was still in my jammies I decided to cook up some Sweet Corn!

Look!  This one has a flower in it!

Right before putting them into the pot of boiling water.

What Do I Need?

4 Ears of Sweet Corn

1 Tomato

1 Cucumber

1 Red Pepper

Pasta

1 batch of Garlic Vinaigrette

 I boiled them for 10 minutes, I think I should have left them in a little longer.  I don’t know though, I have never been any good at cooking Sweet Corn, so if you have any tips for foolproof ways to cook Sweet Corn, throw them at me!

I ate Breakfast while it was cooking.  This has become my favorite Breakfast and Snack these past few days.  Fresh Avocados with Vidalia Onion and Honey Mustard Vinaigrette.  Serious yum.

Then I took pictures of Pickle Pie because he is a Star.

I also photographed the yarn Jaci picked out for the scarf I promised her for next Winter, it is wonderfully soft, and I have been instructed to make it long and thin for maximum neck wrapage.

After taking the corn out of the stock pot I placed it on the counter to cool and went about peeling a bulb of garlic, about half of it (the sliced half) went into a Saute Pan  and the rest was minced up for the Garlic Vinaigrette.

After the Corn is cooled off a little I took a sharp knife and sliced the kernels off into a large bowl and added them to the Garlic in the Saute Pan, I cooked them together for about 10 minutes then placed it in  a container and threw it in the refrigerator to wait for the next day because…

I was about to get ready for Josh and Nichoel’s Wedding, after I did that I took pictures of my Radishes sprouting!

Hooray!

We will now fast forward to the next day, as I did not being my camera to the wedding so as not to have to worry about keeping a hold of it in case drunkenness ensued, which it didn’t.

Grab your delicious Corn and Garlic mixture out of the Fridge.

Add…

…fresh Tomatoes!

Fresh Cucumber…

Chopped Red Pepper, or Yellow, Orange, Green, all or none it’s totally up to on you.  I used the fresh Vegetables we had on hand.  Next time I might like to have some Asparagus on hand, and Broccoli, and Sugar Snap Peas, Radishes, the possibilities are endless.

You could totally stop right here and eat this with Salt and Pepper and call it a day, but why?

I give you Garlic Vinaigrette!

I tell you to pour it over your Vegetables and add some Pasta!

I seasoned with Salt and Parmesan Cheese as well as a little Shredded Cheddar.  Some fresh Mozzarella chunks would be lovely too!

And now…

…I give you a disgusting adorable picture of The Boy in his Puddle Jumpers sliding down rocks at the Cement Plant that Trav works.

I also give you Sexy Trav who doesn’t think he’s sexy.  My friend Bridget pointed out that being sexy and not knowing you’re sexy is like, super sexy.

I agree Bridget, I agree.

The cute will kill you.  This is a Baby Bun that was hanging out around our house today.  Trav caught him and we spent a little time petting him and kissing that adorable fucking white spot on his forehead.

This makes me so excited to get my own Bun!

Humphrey P. Bunny will be mine soon enough!

What Do I Do?

Cook your Sweet Corn however you like until done, I boiled mine for 10 minutes.  Slice the corn kernels off the cob with a sharp knife after cooling them for a small amount of time.

Cut the other veggies you are planning to use into small pieces.  Add to the Corn and Garlic mixture.  Mix well. 

Add Pasta.

Use your favorite Dressing, I like my Homemade Garlic Vinaigrette.  Recipe Below!

Serve with Parmesan Cheese and Shredded Cheddar if you like.

Enjoy!

Garlic Vinaigrette

1/4 cup of Balsamic Vinegar

2 tbsp of minced Garlic

1/2 to 1 tsp of salt

1/2 to 1 tsp of black pepper

3/4 of a cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Use these measurements as a guideline only.  Your own tasted buds are the best tool you have for cooking Delicious things!

Mix it all together in a measuring cup with a spout.  Whisk it for a few minutes to get it sort of combined then pout it all into a glass bottle or jar.  Shake it vigorously before using.  Store any remainder in the fridge for later use, shake well each time.

One thought on “Sweet Corn and Vegetable Pasta Salad with Garlic Vinaigrette

  1. I agree, the chowder looks amazing, but not nearly as hot as Trav!! And he’s vegetarian too, this guy has it all:)

Leave a Reply

