Vanilla Rainbow Cupcakes with Real Cream Cheese Frosting

I give you delicious, amazing, Vanilla Rainbow Cupcakes with Real Cream Cheese Frosting.  If you eat too many of them, they will kill you.  You have been warned.  Shall we move on with the enabling?

What Do I Need?

1/2 cup of Softened Butter

1 cup of Sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp of Vanilla Extract

1 1/2 cups of All Purpose Flour

1/2 tsp of Baking Powder

1/4 tsp of Salt

2/3 of a cup of Cold Milk

Cream your Butter and Sugar until just mixed.

Add in one Egg, beat it.  Add your other Egg, beat it some more.  *snicker*

Now it looks like this…

…wait.  That’s before the Eggs.  Oops!

Mix your Flour, Baking Powder and Salt, add it to your Sugar mixture.

Pour in your Cold Milk and stir until it looks like this…

Now, the fun part!  I split my batter into three different bowls, you can split yours into as many as you want.  I found this GREAT site that helps mix food coloring to get awesome shades!  Go here for that!

Next time I am going to go with pastel colors, that would be super pretty I think!

Licking the Batter Bowl, eschewing the spoon he takes things down a notch and enjoys it all the more for it.

Fill up your Cupcake Cups, stack your colors any way you want them.  I refrigerate my batter for a bit before doing this, that is optional.  Doing swirlies would be cool too!

Let your child eat more batter.

Photograph your growing Cilantro while you bake your Cupcakes at 350 for 18 to 24 minutes.

I will mention here that if you have a way to make a moist cupcake easily, please tell us in the comments.  This was my first From Scratch Cupcake ever, and while it tastes fucking delicious, it was drier then I wanted it to be.

Help!

Now, make your Cream Cheese Frosting!

What Do I Need?

16 oz of softened Cream Cheese

1/2 cup of softened Butter

2 to 2 1/2 cups of sifted Powdered Sugar

2 tsp of Vanilla Extract

So simple!

I should have softened my Cream Cheese a little more, but this turned out fantastic so it didn’t really matter one bit.

Stir in 1 tsp of your Vanilla Extract…

…and your Powdered Sugar.

I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of Powdered Sugar and an extra tsp of Vanilla Extract.

Keep in mind that this is a HEAVY Real Cream Cheese Frosting recipe.  This is bad for you.  So it’s going to taste nothing like the cream cheese frosting at Kwik Trip.  The Cream Cheese Frosting at Kwik Trip is good, I will admit that.

But this is Fantastic.

Now it looks like this and you want to taste it.  I gave in and ate a spoonful, YUM.

Three totally awesome colors!

Make a bunch of totally awesome Vanilla Rainbow Cupcakes with real Cream Cheese Frosting.

I insisted on doing the dishes before eating one…

…that turned into checking my laundry…

…and my Sun Tea…

…I finally went in…

Caught a sleepy Pickle Pie in his new favorite chair on the Front Porch, he slept here all day today!

I had to pick myself up off the floor before I could take this picture, I moaned audibly.  Don’t eat these very often, that would just be a bad idea.

Shortly after this The Boy went missing.  After searching for five minutes outside I called my Mother in Law Penny and asked if she would drive around Town and look for him, while I walked around my area.

She already had him…

He tries very hard to get by with his good looks.

It didn’t work today.  He has lost his trike and his firetruck for two weeks and can’t play outside for the rest of this one.

He is NOT going to be smiling like this when he finds out the extent of this punishment.

I’ll get a picture!

What Do I Do?

Preheat your oven to 350.

Cream your Butter and Sugar.

Stir in Eggs one at a time beating after each addition.

Add your Vanilla Extract and stir.

Combine your dry ingredients and add them to your Butter Mixture.

Pour in your Cold Milk and stir.

Separate batter into as many bowls as you want colors.

Have fun playing!

Spoon your batter into your cups, next time I am going to try to do neat layers to get a striped effect!

Bake for 18 to 24 minutes.  Cool.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream together your Cream Cheese and Butter.

Mix in 1 tsp of your Vanilla Extract.

Stir in your Powdered Sugar.

Separate into bowls for coloring purposes and go crazy!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Rainbow Cupcakes with Real Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. i’ve been searching for the perfect (simple) cream cheese icing + cupcake recipe for a birthday cupcake and by god if this isnt it! so yummy, and simple enough for drunk baking ^_^”

Leave a Reply

