You Are My Golden Star Cheddar Crackers

Eli says, “make some Cheddar Crackers because they are the shit!”

No really, they are fantastic, and probably the easiest recipe I have tried, my next batch, Parmesan and Garlic.

What Do I Need?

1 cup of Flour

Salt (I shook my salt shaker about 6 times)

4 tbls of cold unsalted Butter

8 oz of shredded Cheddar Cheese

4 tbls of cold water

This is 1 cup of flour and some salt.

This is me food processing it…

…adding butter…

…and pulsing in the processor until it looks like this…

…adding cheddar cheese, 4 oz., pulse, 4 oz., pulse, till it looks like….

…this!

So, now if you have been reading along a little, or if you know me at all, you know I am scatterbrained.  I neglected to photograph the way your dough will look after adding 4 tbls of water and running your food processor until your dough “rides the blades.”

I didn’t know what that shit meant either.  But after I did it, it became quite obvious what it means.  So until I make these again, just do what I say and it will turn out fine.

Take your dough out of the food processor and wrap it in plastic, refrigerator for at least 20 minutes and no longer than 24 hours.

I tend to forget that I love black and white photography.

Roll your dough out to about 1/8 of an inch.

Cut cool shapes.

Or, roll your dough out directly onto the cookie sheet and use a pizza cutter or knife to cut your crackers into squares.

We like awesome shapes so we chose Stars.

Brush the tops of these babies with melted butter and sprinkle salt liberally.

Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.

This is the finished product of three batches, I got approximately 120 crackers out of each batch.

They are as delicious as they look, and as easy as they sound.  Coming from someone who has shunned the rolling pin as a tool of the devil for years, who aslo spent about 2 1/2 intimate hours with one today.

Make these and eat them before your children do.

What Do I Do?

Mix 1 cup of Flour with some shakes of your Salt shaker, I was generous with the Salt.  Pour your Flour and Salt into your food processor and pulse for a few seconds.  Add 4 tblsp of Cold Unsalted Butter and pulse until it looks like coarse meal.  Add half of your shredded Cheese and pulse, add the other half and pulse until it is back to looking like coarse meal.

Add 2 tbls of Cold Water and pulse, add the other two tbls and pulse until your dough forms a ball and “rides the blades.”  It doesn’t take long!

Remove the dough and wrap in plastic, refrigerate for no less then 20 minutes and no longer then 24 hours.

Roll the dough out to 1/8 of an inch thickness and use a mini cookie cutter to cut shapes, or roll your dough out onto the cookie sheet and use a knife or pizza cutter to cut into squares.

Lay Aluminum Foil on your cookie sheet and use a paper towel to rub Olive Oil on top.

Place your crackers onto the cookie sheet and brush the tops with melted Butter, if you want more Salt add it now!

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “You Are My Golden Star Cheddar Crackers

  1. Pingback: Sarah 206/365 « Envisage 365

Leave a Reply

