Chicken Stock

If you make a whole chicken and you don’t make Chicken Stock out of the remains, then you dear individual reading my blog, are a waster.  And waste is tragic.

Make Chicken Stock, it’s really fucking easy!

This is a chicken carcass boiling in water.  I added extra carrots, celery, cilantro and all the garlic, lemons and onions leftover from Lemon Garlic Roasted Chicken.

I am recreating this recipe on Sunday with a 22 lb. Turkey.  The leftover possibilities make my head spin!

I allowed this to simmer for at least 6 hours, before bed I threw it in the fridge with a lid, bones and all.

The next morning I dug bones out of it for an hour.  My fingers were frozen.

Then…

…I put it through a strainer and plopped that bitch back on the stove to start cooking Chicken Noodle Soup!

What Do I Need?

Chicken Carcass

Celery

Onions

Carrots

Salt and Pepper

What Do I Do?

Pour enough water over your Chicken carcass to cover it completely, add some sliced Celery, Onions and Carrots, bring to a boil and simmer for hours and hours and hours.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Remove the bones from your stock and put the broth through a strainer.  Use immediately or store in your freezer or fridge in airtight containers.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Stock

  1. Pingback: Zuppa Toscana that is Not as Good as Michelle’s but is still Delicious! « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

Leave a Reply

