Lemon Garlic Roasted Chicken with a Lemon Garlic Butter Sauce

I made this last week.  I am only just getting around to posting it today.  I have nothing witty to say, I have been ill-ish.  I feel better, went for a walk and ate Chocolate Upside Down Pudding Cake.  With no further ado…

Lemon Garlic Roasted Chicken with a Lemon Garlic Butter Sauce

It is as delicious as it looks.

What Do I Need?

A Chicken!

2 Lemons

Carrots

Potatoes

Celery

Onion

Garlic

Cilantro

Butter

Chicken Broth

Next time, I use a turkey.  This time, chicken.  I am going to admit something here and just get it out of the way.  I cooked the chicken upside down.

*shakes head shamefully*

I don’t deserve to have a cooking blog.

Moving on…

Slice a lemon.  Save the ends to zest for the Lemon Garlic Butter Sauce.

Slice an onion.

Stuff all of this, and some whole or minced garlic, up the birds ass.  Include some butter, a lot of butter.

Shove a bunch of that under the skin as well.  For some reason I did not slather butter and seasoning all over the skin of the chicken.  Myself and Heather highly suggest you do.

This is Sydney cutting up vegetables.  After she had finished cutting and giving me near heart attacks with her frivolous use of my shitty Target knife (I do NOT recommend these), she told me that her mother does not let her cut the vegetables at her house for that EXACT reason.

She survived with no mishap.

She did a great job I think…

and nary a nicked knuckle for her efforts!

Throw it all in a roaster, hide pats of butter inside the vegetables.

This is a good idea because it involves butter.

Put more butter in a pan and throw another bulb of minced garlic in it.

Mince some Cilantro too.

Add your Lemon Zest…

…and add both  to your Garlic and Butter.  Add more Butter, I threw in another whole stick.  My recipes are not for those who are cooking light.  But they can all be made lighter, I am just not into light cooking.

Add the broth that you saved from Lemon Herb Chicken in the Crock pot.

Add as much as you like, I only added the liquid, none of the stuff at the bottom.  Putting it through a sieve would be an idea, I didn’t do that, because my brain works in mysterious ways.  This is code for I have a scattered brain, all the time.

This is what you end up with.  This tastes so good.  It is fantastic.  If you like Garlic and Butter, you will love this.  Your taste buds will thank you, profusely.

And when you pour it over this and tender melt in your mouth chicken…

and make a sort of delicious Chicken and Vegetable pond, with fresh lemon juice squeezed over the top.

My heart is literally pounding just writing that.  I will be making this again.

Everyone loved it.

Travis drank the last of the Sauce that was left over.  That’s how good.

When I tasted everything before serving it, I actually uttered aloud,

“Holy Crap!  That’s Delicious!”

Miss Alice had seconds.

I made Chicken Stock and we all went to bed with full bellies and content smiles.

It’s was a Good night.

What Do I Do?

Take a Whole Chicken, stuff sliced Lemons, Onions, and Garlic in the cavity, add Butter.  Place sliced Lemons, Onions, Garlic and pats of Butter under the skin of your Chicken.  Place it in a roaster with Potatoes, Onions, Carrots, Celery and Butter.  Rub the skin of your Chicken with Butter and whatever Seasoning you like.

Place it in the oven at 350, covered until the Chicken is tender.

Meanwhile…

Lemon Garlic Butter Sauce

Coarsely (of finely) chopped Garlic

A stick and a Half of Butter

Minced Cilantro

Lemon Zest

Chicken Broth

Melt some Butter.  Add your minced Garlic, cook until garlic is tender.  Add your minced Cilantro, Lemon Zest and more Butter.  Melt the Butter and add you Chicken Broth.  Cook for a bit until heated through and then a little longer.

Taste it many times throughout the process, for no reason except it is fucking Delicious.

3 thoughts on “Lemon Garlic Roasted Chicken with a Lemon Garlic Butter Sauce

  1. Pingback: Chicken Stock « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

  2. I always cook my chickens upside down. The breast meat sits in the liquid and stays super moist. Don’t hang your head in shame on that. It probably turned out better that way!

Leave a Reply

