Stupid Simple Banana Pancakes

Don’t take offense.  I am not calling you stupid.  I swear, all I am saying is if you WERE stupid, you could make these delicious pancakes really easily.  So simple that you could make a bunch of them and put them in the freezer so you could have Banana Pancakes anytime you wanted.  Then your stupid ass could be happy all the time!

I jest, you are not stupid and neither are these pancakes.  Honest.

What Do I Need?

Pancake Batter (from a box or from scratch)

Bananas

Vanilla Extract

Coconut Extract

Brown Sugar

Well, I certainly didn’t stage this photo very well did I?  The two little bottles?  Vanilla and Coconut extract, the coconut is absolutely optional.  We love it, but if I am out or want a different flavor, I omit it and use pumpkin pie spice instead, also delicious.  Very, very delicious.

Smash your bananas.  Sometimes I put them in the food processor to ensure a very smooth texture.  Today I decided a few chunky bits could only enhance the fantastic-ness.

I am using Trader Joe’s Multigrain pancake and baking mix.  Do whatever you need to do to get pancake batter, it doesn’t matter if you make it from a box or from scratch.  Cut down on the liquid it calls for, taking into account the banana that you are adding makes up for it.

This called for 2 cups of mix, 1 cup of milk (I used 1/2) 2 eggs and 2 tblsp of oil (I used Olive Oil).

Smashed bananas go in the bowl!

A small handful of brown sugar, some vanilla and some coconut extract, don’t be too stingy with it, but don’t go overboard either.  Remember moderation but don’t forget flavor.  One of the BEST things about these pancakes is the subtle hint of coconut.

These ones I made a little too big.  Obscene amounts of butter…what?  Cook them!  Don’t burn them or they don’t taste as delicious, and you obviously want the delicious or you wouldn’t be here.

Feed the first ones to your demon spawn.  If you have no demon spawn then eat them your damn self!  I do not suggest letting anyone eat them at a table that is also filled with clean laundry.

Logic begone!

Cool the rest of them on the counter.

Prepare them for the freezer however you want to.  We go the “I am broke and will use what I have in my kitchen” route, which involves wax paper and tin foil.  Now…

…go do something fun, like coloring with your demon spawn until they have a meltdown because their paint is crusty and glumpy and hard and has to be thrown in the trash, which of course is the end of the world in toddler time.

What Do I Do?

Smash some bananas, about 3 medium sized ones.  Prepare your pancake batter however you are choosing to do so, cut back on the liquid it calls for as the bananas make up for some of it in the end.  Add your smashed bananas to the batter and mix.  Add in a small handful of brown sugar and some vanilla and coconut extracts, don’t be stingy, don’t go hog wild, moderation is your mantra.  Mix it up again.

Melt butter in your skillet and cook away!  These are great served with a Brown Sugar Banana Sauce.  I will post THAT recipe as soon as possible.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

