Baked Chicken and Artichokes

Tonight was supposed to be pizza night, Survivor night is ALWAYS pizza night.  The title of this post proves me a liar.  We did not have pizza tonight.  I am glad because the first taste of this dish was moan inducing wonderful.  I think Survivor night should now be synonymous with Baked Chicken and Artichokes.  I also have leftovers that I have amazing plans for tomorrow.  I want to go to bed now so I can eat lunch already!

What Do I Need?

4 Chicken Breasts

Jarred Artichokes (14 oz packed in water)

Ranch Dressing

Sour Cream

Parmesean

Shredded Cheddar

Garlic

This is a flattened chicken breast and the cup I used to flatten it.  I don’t have a kitchen mallet and apparently I don’t need one!

Place the flattened chicken breasts is a baking pan, made non stick in some way.  I used butter (of course), Pam would do as well, but would it taste as good?  NO!

This may be the easiest, quickest recipe I have made so far.  Mix equal parts Ranch Dressing and Sour ream to make about one cup or a little more.  Mix in about a cup of Parmesan Cheese, I used more, I really like Parmesan Cheese.  Drain some of the water from your jarred Artichoke Hearts, not all, just some.

Mix it frantically!

Wait for it…

Garlic!  I minced it up small this time.  Then I mixed it in with the rest of the artichoke sauce.

Pour the mixture over your chicken breasts…

…and spread it all over till every inch is covered in delicious artichoke sauce.  Put it in the oven at 425 for about 30 minutes.

Sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese over the top and cook for a little longer, until cheese is just melted.  Serve it hot!  You absolutely cannot blame me if you die from the fantastic delicious-ness that is about to hit your tongue.  Oh Man, it’s so good!

My lighting is bad.  Grrr…

I served this with leftover vegetables from the last few night.  I chose Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Apples, Alice and Eli took Honey Butter Carrots and Apples and Jacelyn ate veggies from the Lemon Herb Chicken in the Crock Pot.

After dinner, we watched Survivor, it IS Survivor night you know…sheesh.

Where the fuck is it Boston Rob?  Where?!?

We also cuddled Pickle Pie, and annoyed him by setting the camera flash off in his face at close range 6 times.  Such a patient fat cat.

What Do I Do?

Flatten your chicken breasts and place them into a greased baking pan.  Mix 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of ranch dressing with one cup of parmesan cheese.  Drain some of the water out of your jarred artichokes and add the artichokes and remaining water to your bowl.  Mix in some minced garlic (as little or as much as you like).  Pour the sauce mixture over your chicken and spread it evenly.

Bake at 425 for about 30 minutes.  Add some shredded cheddar cheese and put back in the oven until the cheese is just melted.

Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Baked Chicken and Artichokes

    • Honestly Kirsten, the best meal I have made so far, except maybe the Garlic Alfredo Sauce, even Alice liked that one!

  1. Pingback: Leftover Alert! Baked Chicken and Artichokes over Pasta « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

    • It is so good, honestly, I had NO idea it was going to be as delicious as it was. Super cheap too, which is key for me these days! Cats who look like Pickle Pie are awesome by default, seriously the best cat ever!

  2. I made this recipe tonight. Sooo good! I worry when using chicken breasts that they’ll be either dry or tough… not so here! Melt in your mouth tender! Will be making this again! If I ever get around to writing favored recipes in my recipe journal, this will be among them!

Leave a Reply

