Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples

I started dinner later than usual today, I think mostly because Eli was playing outside and I was trying hard to get pictures.  It’s pretty awesome that he can play outside in a yard that is his.  I never thought we would have that…

He came in with rosy red cheeks…

…and melting snowflakes in his hair.

 

What Do I Need?

Brussels Sprouts

Apples

Onion

Garlic

Apple Juice

Olive Oil

Thyme

Salt and Pepper

Trim the ends of your brussels sprouts and quarter them, core your apple as well and cut them into thick-ish chunks.

Onion?  Yes please!

Very soon you will come to find out that I have a torrid love affair with garlic.  I like it raw on salads, whole cloves in Hobo Dinner (this too!), minced in hamburgers and meatloaf, in bread, soup, rice.  I go through 4 or 5 bulbs of garlic a week.  Garlic is delicious.

Other stuff.  Add as much as you like, I suppose you will also come to find out that I rarely use measurements in my cooking.  I can tell you that if you have a shallow bit of apple juice in your baking pan when you throw this awesomeness in the oven, it makes a delicious sauce.  I pour a little thyme in the palm of my hand and sprinkle it over the top, salt I go nuts with because, like garlic, I love salt.  Sodium content be damned!

Throw it all in a bowl!  Mix it with a spoon!

I took a great picture of it all poured into a baking dish, but I cut off half the fucking pan so I got angry at the picture and decided to skip and just tell you to put it in a baking dish and toss it in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes.

Also…grrr to pictures that suck!

While this is cooking choose some grains to go with it…

I choose Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend.  Any grain will do, this one was fantastic.  We just got a Trader Joe’s in Rochester (where I do my grocery shopping, mostly because now they have a Trader Joe’s *squeeee*).

And because I love to cook, and alright, maybe because I know my kids like it (and sometimes I am not a total bitch Mom) I decided to make Honey Butter Carrots and Apples.

This is probably the best pre-packaged mixed grain dish I have ever bought.  1.99 at Trader Joes?  Totally worth it!

Jacelyn’s friend came over for dinner last night.  As we were eating she told me, and I quote,

“You are an amazing cook!”

I’ll take it!

What Do I Do?

Trim the ends off of your brussels sprouts and quarter them.  Put them in a bowl.  Core your apples, chop them coarsely and add them to the brussels sprouts.  Garlic and onions?  Throw those babies in too!  Add some apple juice and olive oil, some Thyme and salt and pepper, pour into a baking dish (remember, if you have a shallow amount of apple juice in the bottom of the baking dish it makes a delicious sauce!).

Bake at 375 for 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples

  1. Pingback: Honey Butter Carrots and Apples « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

  2. Pingback: Tomato Basil Mixed Grain Salad « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

  3. Pingback: Baked Chicken and Artichokes « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

Leave a Reply

