Potato Pancakes aka Latkas aka Hashbrowns

My day started at one o’clock this afternoon.  One o’clock.  Holy Hell.  It was my sleep in day, one o’clock was too late.  Ugh.  So two hours after waking up I began to prepare dinner.  Potato Pancakes.  I’ve never made them before.  They were delicious, and versatile so that is awesome.  We invited the family over to eat with us, I love big family dinners.  Who ever would have thought that of me?  :)

What Do I Need?

Potatoes (10)

Onion (1)

Garlic (1 bulb)

Parsley (minced)

Eggs (2)

Milk (2 tblsp)

Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Flour (2 tblsp)

Butter

What do I do?

Peel your potatoes, or don’t.  Next time I will not peel mine.

Grate your potatoes, do NOT grate your finger for if you do the next two steps will be painful.  Seriously, take it from me, stick to potatoes not flesh.  Also, that nifty handheld grater could possibly be the reason this took me four hours today.  :)

I did not photograph the process of squeezing as much water out of the grated potatoes as possible, probably because my hands were full of shaved potatoes and potato water.  Ick.  Place your potatoes in between sheets of paper towels in order to remove more moisture while you continue on to the other steps.

Grated onion, there may be some tears mixed in.  Grating onion is hard on the eyes.  It is also hard on any cuts you may have received when being less then careful while grating your potatoes.  You should also squeeze some of the extra juice out, leave some in for flavor purposes and save the rest for the marinade for Lemon Herb Chicken in the Crock Pot.

Grate your garlic, half a bulb for the Potato Pancakes and half a bulb for the Lemon Herb Chicken marinade.

It’s parsley!  I think you should mince it!

Mix it all up together, also at this point add two eggs and 2 tblsp’s of milk mix it up and dust some flour over the top, mix this in too.  I did not photograph this step as I got distracted by leaving to borrow a crockpot to cook tomorrow nights meal!  So you will have to trust me, without photographic proof.  2 eggs, 2 tblsp milk and some flour.  DO IT!

Ok, so the recipe calls for vegetable oil, I say pshaw.  If you have butter fry it in butter, because it’s butter.  Duh.

Drop them by spoonfuls and flatten them with your spatula.  Fry them until golden brown on both sides.

I covered mine in sour cream and shredded sharp cheddar cheese.  Next time I might crumble up some bacon and make a cheese sauce.  Holy Yum!

Potatoes (10)

Onion (1)

Garlic (1 bulb)

Parsley (minced)

Eggs (2)

Milk (2 tblsp)

Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Flour (2 tblsp)

Butter

Grate your potatoes (squeeze extra water from potatoes and place between sheets of paper towel),  onion (squeeze some of the juice from the grated onion, save for Lemon Herb Chicken marinade),  1/2 garlic bulb and parsley, mix together.  Mix 2 eggs and 2 tblsp milk, pour over the potato mixture.  Add salt and pepper to taste, dust potato mixture with flour and mix again.

Melt butter in skillet, drop spoonfuls of potato mixture into skillet and flatten with your spatula, fry until golden brown on both sides.

If you are not planning to serve your potato pancakes immediately you can put them on a cookie sheet and place them in a 300 degree oven.  They taste best when served right away though.  I short order cooked this meal so everyone could have fresh from the skillet deliciousness.

Top them with whatever you want, be creative, if you leave a comment let me know what you used to top them, because I like to try new things!

Enjoy!

After Dinner…

…we ate Sherbert Sandwiches that Steph made with Raspberry Sherbet and Girl Scout cookies…

…and played Uno.

3 thoughts on “Potato Pancakes aka Latkas aka Hashbrowns

  1. Yummy! I’ve never grated my onions before – I usually chop them. I’ll have to try using the grater next time.

    Whenever I make these, I rinse my grated potatoes in a colander under cold tap water to rinse away that oxidation. I’m always afraid, thought, that I’m also rinsing away yummy starch when I do it that way, though.

  2. I don’t mind the discoloration, but next time maybe I will rinse them and see if it makes a difference texture and flavor wise, we are definitely making them again.

    I froze three leftover pancakes so I can see how easy it is to heat them up in the oven, if they reheat well then I plan on making a large batch for freezing purposes!

  3. Pingback: Lemon Herb Chicken in the Crockpot « Holy Crap! That's Delicious!

Leave a Reply

